Planning Commission

The purpose of the Planning Commission is to review and make recommendations to Mayor and Council on proposed amendments to the comprehensive plan, zoning ordinance, official zoning map, and applications for special use permits.

The Covington Planning Commission is composed of at least five and no more than nine members appointed by Mayor and Council who serve overlapping three-year terms.The Planning Commission holds regularly scheduled public meetings at 6:00 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month.  All meetings are held in Council Chambers at 2194 Emory Street, NW.



View of courthouse from Floyd Street


2020 Planning Commission Schedule


Commission Members

Lee Aldridge, Chairman
Michael Lassiter​
Ruel Parker
Steve Plitt
Jared Rutberg
Bobbie Shepherd
Mark Sullivan
John Travis